Blade Runner 2049 – Impressions

This is a post I should have completed three days ago when I saw this movie, but this is one I had to process before giving it a post that it deserves. Also, I would recommend you to stop reading if you intend to see the film. I do not plan on spoiling anything, but please, see it before you read this.  After all, opinions do sway people regardless of spoilers.

Every once in a while, I find myself losing faith in art. There are many cases of creators pandering to what audiences will easily consume, or in simplified terms, they play it safe. Sequel after prequel after midquel to go through, which are all like giving different names to the same shade of brown. It is ironic that I bring this point up, looking at how Blade Runner 2049 is a sequel to a movie that was perfectly fine without one.

Before I actually touch on this movie, I want to bring up a point that every sequel to a self-contained story needs to have a reason for existing. Was Independence Day: Resurgence more than a cash-grab on nostalgia? Yes. Dare I even say that Finding Dory is a film that strikes similar chords to its predecessor enough to make me raise an eyebrow.  This is different from The Lord of the Rings, as that is a single story separated into three parts. This is different from Star Wars: A New Hope, as that is a foundation for a larger world, and therefore birthing in a storyline to expand off of it.

This is perhaps Blade Runner 2049’s greatest success. It manages to act as a faithful sequel to the original while keeping to its own story. It respects fans of the original film, which is not bogged down making it worse in retrospect.

The question is, does it exist outside of the cult classic’s shadow?blade4

I think this film will be hit-and-miss for many. I know my last few retrospects have stated the same principle, but I want to especially emphasize that point here. If you are looking for action or a narrative that won’t require your full attention, this movie will leave you disappointed. This is true to an extent for the original film, but it is more apparent here in part of its runtime. I will agree that this film does not need to be nearly as long as it is, although I do appreciate the slow-burn approach to its pacing.

Like the original, (if you watch the version Ridley Scott intended the movie to be) Blade Runner 2049 does not go out of its way to world-build. There is more of it here compared to the original, but it is contained within the background of the film and is never pressing. This builds the immersion of this film, which let me say is fantastic. The gloomy-yet-vivid colour pallet combined with the minimalist noir score (although less jazzy this time around) creates a breathtaking atmosphere that tells its own story. For many, this will likely be the most striking part of the film.

Acting in Blade Runner 2049 is noteworthy as well. Ryan Gosling does a stellar job as the emotionless(?) K, which reflects this film’s theme of humanity that naturally stems and evolves from the first film. One part in particular that I liked was his relationship with Ana de Armas’ Joi and Harrison Ford’s Dekkard. Now, Harrison Ford. I do not feel alone in stating that a lot of his recent roles feel phoned in, almost as if he feels obliged to play the roles that he is in. Yes, even Han Solo in The Force Awakens and especially Indiana Jones in Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. You may expect this returning role to follow the same suit, but Harrison Ford gave a heartfelt performance that is both respectful to the character and so much more… That I cannot spoil.

While Blade Runner 2049’s plot feels told with an immense degree of subtlety, it is rather straightforward if one pays attention. The runtime may be unnecessarily long, but this film is oozing with artistic magnificence in its purest form. It lives up to the original and stands beside it without a doubt. I am hesitant to say that it can stand on its own away from the original, but time will give a better indication towards that. If you want to know why science-fiction can be such a deep, relevant, and grandiose genre beyond wacky science and lasers (sorry, Star Wars) watch this film. You will not regret it unless you expect casual entertainment or action.

blade-runner-2049-trailer-breakdown-33.jpg

Also, as an aside: I hate to say it, but this film did not have a ‘tears in rain’ moment for me. That is still one of the most hauntingly beautiful things I have ever witnessed in any story.

I hope you enjoyed this look at the movie! This definitely felt more like a shorter review than a simple impression, but I feel as if this film (as well as the original) is one that I can come back to in the future and dissect. I would also expect another two impression posts this week for a novella and a play. Without any further rambling, have a great day/night! 🙂

–  FIND ME! –
FACEBOOK | TWITTER | INSTAGRAMTUMBLR | GOODREADS

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment